Description for image 6Description for image 5Description for image 4Description for image 3Description for image 1Description for image 2


Amitabha: Sanskrit; Amida (Japanese). He is one of the major Buddhas of the Mahayana school, and presides over the Western Pure Land.
Ananda: One of Sakyamuni Buddha’s Ten Great Disciples. He recorded the Buddha’s teachings as sutras.
Anatta: There is no permanent self or soul. This belief is one of the Three Marks of Existence, along with Anicca and Dukkha.
Anicca: No existence is permanent.
Arhat (Arhant): Sanskrit; literally, "worthy one". A Buddhist saint who has attained Nirvana.
Asura (Ashura): Powerful demons, and one of the Six Realms of Existence.
Attachment: The cause of suffering.
Avalokitesvara: Sanskrit; Kannon (Japanese), Chenrezig (Tibetan), Kwan Um (Korean), Kuan Yin (Chinese). The Bodhisattva of Compassion.
Avatamsaka: Literally, “Flower Ornament” Sutra. One of the longest sutras in the Buddhist Canon, and the epitome of Buddhist thought, sentiment, and experience. It is cited by all Mahayana Buddhist schools.
Avijja: Sanskrit; Avidya (Pali). Ignorance and delusion, See Delusion.